No ALT tag specified
Danny Barnes, Munster's Ireland Under 20 centre.
Narrow Defeat For Under 20s.
6 June 2009, 1:50 pm
A late Justin Tipuric try converted by Matthew Jarvis gave Wales a 19-17 victory over Ireland at the Junior World Championships in Fukuoka Japan earlier today.
It leaves Ireland waiting to see who their opponents will be - either Samoa or France - for the seventh/eighth place play-off match on Sunday.

Ireland Scorers: Michael Keating (try) Pens: Ian McKinley (4 penalties).

Wales: Justin Tipuric try), Matthew Jarvis (4 pen, 1 con)

Ireland Under-20: Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster); David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster), Danny Barnes (UCC/Munster), Eamonn Sheridan (Lansdowne/Leinster), Michael Keating (Clontarf/Leinster); Ian McKinley (UCD/Leinster), Conor Murray (Garryowen Munster); Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Thomas Sexton (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Adam Macklin (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster), Mark Flanagan (UCD/Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (Millfield School/Exiles), Brian O'Hara (UL Bohemians/Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) (capt).

Replacements used : David O'Callaghan (UCC/Munster) for O'Mahony (6 mins), Joe Moran (Galwegians/Connacht) for O'Hara (half-time), Andrew Burke (Garryowen/Munster) for Barnes (46), Matthew Healy (Lansdowne/Leinster) for Murray (56), Paddy McAllister (Ballynahinch/Ulster) for Macklin (61), Jonny Shiels (Queen's University/Ulster) for Madigan (75). Not used: David McGregor (Ballynahinch/Ulster).

Wales Under-20: Daniel Newton; James Loxton, Jason Harries, Ashley Beck, Rhys Downes; Matthew Jarvis, Lloyd Williams; Aaron Coundley, Rhys Williams, Scott Andrews (capt), James King, Ashley Sweet, Justin Tipuric, Rhys Jenkins, James Thomas.Replacements used : Scott Williams for Beck (17 mins), David Langdon for S Williams (58), Rory Pitman for Sweet (65), Josh Navidi for Jenkins (75). Not used: Craig Attwell, Simon Gardiner, James Leadbeater.

Referee : Jerome Garces (France)

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM