No ALT tag specified
John Kelly back in the Munster side for the clash with Llanelli Scarlets
Inpho/Billy Stickland
Kelly & O'Driscoll In Munster side
3 March 2007, 9:10 pm
By Pat Geraghty
John Kelly and Mick O'Driscoll have been named in the Munster starting XV for the clash with Llanelli Scarlets tomorrow night.
Kelly returns to the side to win his 151st cap having been out of action since the final pool game against Leiceter Tigers in mid-January while O'Driscoll has recovered from the injury he picked up in the final RBS Six Nations game against Italy in Rome.

Barry Murphy makes way for Lifeimi Mafi at outside centre, Murphy's opportunity to stake a claim not helped by his injury forced withdrawal from the starting line-up last weekend against Ulster.

Coach Declan Kidney will late till later to finalise his bench with Anthony Foley and John O'Sullivan vying for the number 19 jersey.

Meanwhile Llanelli Scarlets are able to name a full-strength side after winger Mark Jones passed a fitness test on Wednesday to confirm his place in the side. The Scarlets flyer took a bang to his knee in training earlier this week in Tenby. Matthew Watkins was placed on standby in case Jones failed his fitness test, but he will now start the game from the bench.

"Mark came through the fitness test without any reaction this morning, so he will play on Friday," confirmed a Scarlets spokesman.

Munster: Christian Cullen; John Kelly, Lifeimi Mafi, Trevor Halstead, Ian Dowling; Ronan O'Gara (capt), Peter Stringer; Marcus Horan, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes; Donncha O'Callaghan, Mick O'Driscoll; Alan Quinlan, David Wallace, Denis Leamy. Replacements: Frank Sheahan, Federico Pucciariello, Donncha Ryan, Anthony Foley/John O'Sullivan, Tomas O'Leary, Jeremy Manning, Barry Murphy

Llanelli Scarlets: Barry Davies; Dafydd James, Regan King, Gavin Evans, Mark Jones; Stephen Jones, Dwayne Peel; Iestyn Thomas, Matthew Rees, Deacon Manu; Vernon Cooper, Scott MacLeod;6 Simon Easterby (capt), Gavin Thomas, Alix Popham.Replacements: Ken Owens, John Davies, Inoke Afeaki, Dafydd Jones, Liam Davies, Ceiron Thomas, Matthew Watkins

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM