No ALT tag specified
Peter O'Mahony and Danny Barnes in action against Connacht.
Eileesh Buckley (MSC).
Youth Gets Its Fling Tonight in Waterford
2 February 2010, 11:18 am
Munster and Nottingham will tonight look to their emerging talent to maintain their push for British & Irish Cup honours when the sides meet in round 3 at the Regional Sports Centre in Waterford (7pm)
Munster coaches Anthony Foley and Ian Costello field a side largely comprised of Academy and sub Academy players for a game that will go a long in deciding the winner of this Pool B

And likewise, Nottingham coach Glenn Delaney has named a young side for this fixture, due to a heavy league schedule.

Both sides are unbeaten after two games with Munster one point ahead thanks to that bonus point win in Coventry and if anything Nottingham have the easier run in with games remaining against Bristol and Coventry while Munster's next outing is against Neath at The Gnoll.

Peter O'Mahony leads Munster tonight as he did so impressively against Connacht last week and the return of Ian Nagle and the presence of the likes of Danny Riordan, Ciaran O'Boyle, Danny Barnes and Stepehen Archer will complement the burgeoning talent that Foley and Costello has assembled.

The visitors have nineteen year old, dual-registered Matt Everard, in their starting line-up after sitting on the bench against Bristol on Sunday while Dave Marshall comes in at fly half.

Greig Tonks moves to inside centre for the match up and Dan Hemingway returns to a pack that has an experienced front row in hooker Greg Sammons and tight-head prop Ben Buxton who both played with Leicester Tigers and loose-head Peter Cook who spent time with Harlequins.

Munster: Danny Riordan (UL Bohs); Ciaran O'Boyle (Garryowen), Danny Barnes (Dolphin), Eric Moloney (Dolphin), Sean Scanlon (UCC); Declan Cusack (Thomond), Conor Murray (Garryowen); Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohs), Mike Sherry (Garryowen), Stephen Archer (Cork Con); Ian Nagle (Cork Con), Dave Foley (UL Bohs); Ed Kelly (UL Bohs), Barry O'Mahony (Dolphin), Peter O'Mahony (Cork Con) capt Replacements: Ger Slattery (Young Munster), Pa O'Regan (UL Bohs), Sean Duggan (Shannon), Neville Melbourne (Clonmel), Paul Rowley (UL Bohs), Andrew Burke (UCC), Barry Murphy (UL Bohs).

Nottingham: Andy Savage; Jack Cobden, Tim Streather, Greig Tonks, Donald Blake; Dave Marshall, Dan White; Peter Cook, Greg Sammons, Ben Buxton; Ian Nimmo, Nic Carter; Jonny Baird, Matt Everard, Dan Hemingway.

Replacements: Neil Fowkes, Tom Youngs, Petrus Du Plessis, Nic Rouse, Phil Eggleshaw, Will Nelson, Jamie Barnard.
Related News
  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby19141469
2Ulster Rugby19140565
3Munster Rugby19140563
4Glasgow Warriors18140460
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM