No ALT tag specified
Sean Henry
Munster Name Their Heineken Cup Squad
10 October 2011, 5:52 pm
By The Editor
Munster submitted their Heineken Cup squad this afternoon.
Included for the first time are Munster Academy graduates wing Simon Zebo, scrum-half Conor Murray (added to the squad for the Amlin last season)and hooker Sean Henry along with current Academy player wing-forward Dave O'Callaghan. The squad also includes newcomers Ian Keatley, BJ Botha, Will Chambers and Development prop John Ryan.

Notable absentees are Jerry Flannery, David Wallace and Felix Jones, all front-line players ruled out through injury sustained while preparing for or participating in the Rugby World Cup.

Because of front-row injuries, John Hayes has been included for the pool stages of the competition. Darragh Hurley and Peter Borlase - both of whom are expected to resume full training in the coming weeks - could come into the squad after ERC Round 1 and 2 under ERC regulations, as is the case with Flannery.

Neither Wallace nor Jones would be available to take any part in the pool stages.

21 year old Youghal native Dave O'Callaghan (Dolphin), a former Ireland Youth/U20 international, made his first appearance for Munster in the August 2009 pre-season friendly against Sale Sharks and his first competitive start against Ospreys in the RaboDirect PRO12 game earlier this month.

Other newcomers, John Ryan (Cork Con) and Sean Henry (UL Bohs) are both 23 year olds. Henry won three caps as a replacement last season while Ryan made his debut off the bench in the September RaboDirect PRO12 game against Cardiff Blues and followed that with a second, again off the bench in the game against Edinburgh in Murrayfield.

Munster Heineken Cup Squad: Scott Deasy, Doug Howlett, Denis Hurley, Johne Murphy, Simon Zebo, Danny Barnes, Will Chambers, Tom Gleeson, Keith Earls, Lifeimi Mafi, Ronan O'Gara, Ian Keatley, Tomas O'Leary, Conor Murray, Duncan Williams, Peter Stringer, Denis Fogarty, Damien Varley, Michael Sherry, Sean Henry, Marcus Horan, John Hayes, Stephen Archer, Wian du Preez, BJ Botha, John Ryan, Paul O'Connell, Donncha O'Callaghan, Michael O'Driscoll, Ian Nagle, Donnacha Ryan, Niall Ronan, Billy Holland, Tommy O'Donnell, Peter O'Mahony, Dave O'Callaghan, Denis Leamy, James Coughlan.

Related News
  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby19141469
2Ulster Rugby19140565
3Munster Rugby19140563
4Glasgow Warriors18140460
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM