John Hayes receives his IRUPA Hall Of Fame Award from Ireland Captain Brian O'Driscoll
John Hayes receives his IRUPA Hall Of Fame Award from Ireland Captain Brian O'Driscoll
Brendan Moran/Sportsfile
IRUPA Awards For Munster Players
5 May 2012, 2:59 pm
By The Editor
Four days after receiving the Munster Rugby Young Player of the Year Award, back row forward, Peter O'Mahony also claimed the Young Player of the Year title at the 10th IRUPA Rugby Players' awards last night at the Burlington Hotel, Dublin.
The 22 year old Corkman received his award following a stellar season where he captained Munster in five of their opening six RaboDirect PRO12 matches and made his Heineken Cup debut against Northampton Saints. O'Mahony also claimed his first Ireland cap this season against Italy last February.

Joining Ireland's heroes in the IRUPA Hall of Fame was Munster legend, John Hayes who was presented his award by Ireland captain Brian O'Driscoll.

Recently retired Mick O'Driscoll was awarded the inaugural IRUPA Hibernia College Medal for Excellence, which rewards on field effort combined with off field commitment to the game.

Nominees were voted by their peers but were also judged on their contribution to the sport through community involvement, education, work and charitable initiatives.

David Wallace accepts the IRUPA Medal For Excellence on behalf of teammate Mick O'Driscoll from Dr. Sean Rowland.

Related News
  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby19141469
2Ulster Rugby19140565
3Munster Rugby19140563
4Glasgow Warriors18140460
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM