No ALT tag specified
Munster A Record Opening Win
9 September 2009, 4:54 pm
The Munster As recorded their first win of the season winning 28-11 away to Ulster A in Shaws Bridge this afternoon.
Ulster started strong playing with the wind and using it to their advantage and Niall O'Connor got his side on the scoreboard kicking two penalties.

The Munster pack displayed some good forward play, working well together and they were rewarded for their efforts with a try from Dave Ryan in the opening half.

Outhalf Declan Cusack kicked two penalties, leaving the score at halftime 11-6 to Munster.

Five minutes into the second half Munster continued to pull away as academy player Dave Foley scored Munster's second try. This was followed by tries from Cusack and Billy Holland, the latter converted.

Ulster broke the Munster defence to score their only try of the afternoon but Munster proved too strong winning 28-11.

Munster A: Danny Riordan, Ian Dowling, Tom Gleeson, Scott Deasy, Danny Barnes, Declan Cusack (Sub Academy), Duncan Williams, Dave Ryan, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, Billy Holland capt, Eoghan Grace, Peter O'Mahony. Replacements: Sean Henry (Sub Academy), Darragh Hurley, Kieran Essex, Barry O'Mahony (Dolphin), Paul Rowley, Andrew Burke and Ronan O'Mahony.

All replacements used.

Munster A Management Team:

Head Coach: Anthony Foley

Assistant Coach: Ian Costello

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM