No ALT tag specified
Mick Galwey and David Quinlan
Inpho/Billy Stickland
AIB League International Squad
2 February 2007, 7:48 pm
A 28 man squad for the first AIB Club International of the season between Ireland and England Counties in Donnybrook on Friday, 23rd February has been named.
The game is part of the IRFU Community Rugby Programme and gives non contracted club players the opportunity to win representative honours for Ireland and to showcase the club game at the highest possible level. The game will also be televised live by RTE with a 7.05pm kick off. The AIB Club International side will also play an away fixture against a similar Scotland selection on the eve of the Scotland v Ireland Championship game next month.

The initial squad has been selected throughout the AIB League season to date with club coaches asked to put forward names of opposition players that have impressed them.

The recommendations of the club coaches and selection advisors were then narrowed down by the Ireland Management team of Coach Geoff Moylan, Manager Mick Galwey, Assistant Coach Gerald McCarter and Assistant Manager Donal Brennan.

The selected squad represents 13 clubs from the AIB League from all four provinces. The squad will come together for a training session on Sunday, 18th February after which the Ireland team and replacements will be selected. The team to play England Counties in the AIB Club International will be named by the Ireland management team at a media conference on Monday, 19th February.

Ireland Squad for AIB Club International:

Forwards (14): Frank Cogan (Cork Constitution), Kevin Corrigan (Lansdowne), Simon Crawford (Clontarf), Matthew Crockett (Dublin University), Conor Hartigan (Buccaneers), Les Hogan (Shannon), Alan Maher (Lansdowne), Peter Malone (Garryowen), Rory McGrath (Dolphin), Stephen Nolan (Terenure College), Dan O'Connell (Galwegians), Merle O'Connor (Cork Constitution), David Quinlan (Shannon), Simon Shawe (Ballymena).

Backs (14): Anthony Barrett (Galwegians), Philip Brophy (St.Mary's College), Mark Bruce (Buccanneers), John Cleary (Galwegians), Andrew Finn (Shannon), Kevin Hartigan (Garryowen), Cronan Healy (Cork Constitution), Barry Keeshan (Dolphin), Paul Magee (Dungannon), Richard McCarter (Dungannon), Niall O'Brien (Clontarf), Fiach O'Loughlin (Clontarf), Glen Telford (Dungannon), Andrew Thompson (Shannon).

  • Next Match
  • League Table

1Leinster Rugby20151474
2Munster Rugby20150568
3Ulster Rugby20140665
4Glasgow Warriors19150464
Rabodirect PRO12 TV
© 2014 Content Copyright Munster Rugby, Statistical Data SFMS Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM